[Elsnet-list] LICS 2005: Call for Papers

Alex Simpson als+lics-replies-ignored at inf.ed.ac.uk
Mon Oct 11 15:05:41 CEST 2004

Twentieth Annual IEEE Symposium on 
June  26th -- 29th, 2005, Chicago, Illinois

The LICS Symposium is an annual international forum on theoretical and
practical topics in computer science that relate to logic broadly
construed.  We invite submissions on topics that fit under that rubric.
Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest for submissions include:
automata theory, automated deduction, categorical models and logics,
concurrency and distributed computation, constraint programming,
constructive mathematics, database theory, domain theory, finite model
theory, formal aspects of program analysis, formal methods, hybrid systems,
lambda and combinatory calculi, linear logic, logical aspects of
computational complexity, logics in artificial intelligence, logics of
programs, logic programming, modal and temporal logics, model checking,
probabilistic systems, process calculi, programming language semantics,
reasoning about security, rewriting, specifications, type systems and type
theory, and verification.  We welcome submissions in emergent areas, such as
bioinformatics and quantum computation, if they have a substantial
connection with logic.

Important Dates: 
Authors are required to submit
a paper title and a short abstract of about 100 words 
before submitting the extended abstract of the
paper. All submissions will be electronic.

Author Notification:           18th March 2005
Camera-ready Papers Due:       8th April 2005.

All deadlines are firm; late submissions will not be considered. 
Detailed information about electronic paper submission will
be posted at the LICS website.

Submission Instructions: 
Every extended abstract  must be submitted in the IEEE Proceedings
two-column camera-ready format.  It must be in English and provide
sufficient detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits
of the paper.  It should begin with a succinct statement of the issues,
a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their
significance and relevance to the conference and to
computer science, all phrased for the non-specialist. 
Technical development directed to the specialist
should follow. References and comparisons with related work should be

Extended abstracts may be no longer than 10 pages including references, and
must be formatted in the IEEE Proceedings two-column camera-ready style
(IEEE style files will be accessible from the LICS website).  If necessary,
detailed proofs of technical results can be included in a clearly-labelled
appendix in the same two-column format following the 10-page extended
abstract or there can be a pointer to a manuscript on a web site.  This
material may be read at the discretion of the program committee.
Extended abstracts not conforming to the above requirements
concerning format and length may be rejected without further

The results must be unpublished and not submitted for publication
elsewhere, including the proceedings of other symposia or workshops.
The PC chair should be informed of closely related work submitted to a
conference or journal between 10th January  2005 and 18th March 2005.
All authors of accepted papers will be expected to sign copyright
release forms.  One author of each accepted paper will be expected to
present it at the conference.

Short Presentations: LICS 2005 will have a session of short (5--10 minutes)
presentations.  This session is intended for descriptions of work in
progress, student projects, and relevant research being published
elsewhere; other brief communications may be acceptable.  Submissions for
these presentations, in the form of short abstracts (1 or 2 pages long),
should be entered at the LICS 2005 submission site between 19th March and
25th March 2005.  Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by
1st April 2005.

Kleene Award for Best Student Paper: An award in honour of the late
S.C. Kleene will be given for the best student paper, as judged by the
program committee.  Details concerning eligibility criteria and procedure
for consideration for this award will be posted at the LICS website.  The
program committee may decline to make the award or may split it among
several papers.

Affiliated Workshops: As in previous years, there will be a number of
workshops affiliated with LICS 2005; information will be posted at the LICS

Sponsorship: The symposium is sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on
Mathematical Foundations of Computing in cooperation with the Association
for Symbolic Logic, and the European Association for Theoretical Computer

Program Chair:
Prakash Panangaden
School of Computer Science
McGill University
Montreal, Quebec
Email: prakash at cs.mcgill.ca
Phone: + 1 514 398 7074
Fax:   + 1 514 398 3883

Program Committee:
Jiri Adamek         Technical University of Braunschweig
Luca de Alfaro      U. of California, Santa Cruz 
Andrei Bulatov      Simon Fraser University  
Hubert Comon-Lundh  ENS Cachan 
Philippa Gardner    Imperial College   
Martin Grohe        Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin   
Neil Immerman       U. of Massachusetts, Amherst  
Marta Kwiatkowska   University of Birmingham  
Maurizio Lenzerini  Universita di Roma   
Guy McCusker        University of Sussex  
Larry Moss          University of Indiana   
Prakash Panangaden  McGill University
Frank Pfenning      Carnegie-Mellon University 
Toniann Pitassi     University of Toronto   
Uday Reddy          University of Birmingham    
Thomas Schwentick   Philipps-Universitat Marburg 
Peter Selinger      University of Ottawa   
N. Shankar          SRI International  
Igor Walukiewicz    Universite Bordeaux  

Conference co-Chairs:
Alan Jeffrey, Radhakrishnan Jagadeesan
School of CTI 
DePaul University
Chicago, Illinois
ajeffrey at cs.depaul.edu
rjagadeesan at cs.depaul.edu

Workshops Chair:
Philip J. Scott, U. of Ottawa
phil at site.uottawa.ca

Publicity Chair:
Alex Simpson, U. of Edinburgh
Alex.Simpson at ed.ac.uk

General Chair:
Phokion G. Kolaitis, U. of California, Santa Cruz
kolaitis at cs.ucsc.edu

Organizing Committee: 
Samson Abramsky, Andrei Broder, Sam Buss, Edmund Clarke, Amy Felty, Hal
Gabow, Lauri Hella, Radha Jagadeesan, Alan Jeffrey, Ulrich Kohlenbach,
Phokion Kolaitis, Janos Makowsky, John Mitchell, Mogens Nielsen, Prakash
Panangaden, Frank Pfenning, Gordon Plotkin, Femke van Raamsdonk, Philip
Scott, Alex Simpson, Andrei Voronkov.

Advisory Board: 
Robert Constable, Yuri Gurevich, Claude Kirchner, Dexter Kozen, Ursula
Martin, Albert Meyer, Leszek Pacholski, Vaughan Pratt, Andre Scedrov, Moshe
Y. Vardi, Glynn Winskel

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list