[Elsnet-list] [Ecsqaru2005] LAST CfP ECSQARU 2005

ecsqaru2005 at iiia.csic.es ecsqaru2005 at iiia.csic.es
Tue Jan 11 23:13:21 CET 2005

--We apologize for multiple copies you may receive.
    Please feel free to distribute among your colleagues--


                         LAST CALL FOR PAPERS
            Paper Submission Deadline: January 20, 2005    



          Eighth European Conference on Symbolic and Quantitative
          Approaches to Reasoning with Uncertainty

          July 6-9, 2005
          Barcelona, Spain



The biannual ECSQARU conferences are a major forum for advances in
the theory and practice of reasoning under uncertainty.  Contributors
are expected to come both from researchers interested in advancing the
technology and from practitioners who are using uncertainty techniques
in applications. The scope of ECSQARU includes, but is not limited to,
fundamental issues, representation, inference, learning, and decision
making in qualitative and numeric paradigms. Submissions are now
invited for its eighth edition ECSQARU-2005.

TOPICS OF INTEREST  (non-exclusive):

Foundations of reasoning and decision making under uncertainty
Default reasoning
Bayesian networks
Belief revision & inconsistency handling
Causal networks
Argumentation systems
Decision theory and graphs
Learning for uncertainty formalisms
Markov decision processes
Automated planning & acting
Game theoretic agents
Information fusion
Belief functions
Uncertainty & data mining
Fuzzy sets and Fuzzy Logic
Classification & clustering
Rough sets
Algorithms for uncertain inference
Possibility theory
Empirical studies of algorithms
Logics for reasoning under uncertainty
Implementation and applications of uncertain systems


The conference proceedings will be published as a volume in the Lecture
Notes in Computer Science series of Springer. Authors are thus requested
to prepare their papers in the LNCS/LNAI format. Each paper must not
exceed 12 pages in length. Papers that are not in the stated format or
that exceed the page limit will not be reviewed. Submission guidelines
are  to be found in the conference website.

Submitted papers will be evaluated by peer review on the basis of
originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of exposition.
All accepted papers will be included in the conference proceedings.
Authors of accepted papers are expected to attend the conference and
make oral presentations about their work.


It has become traditional in ECSQARU conferences to devote one day to
specialised workshops. We encourage people interested in organising a
workshop during ECSQARU-2005 to contact the conference organisers and
send one page description with the topic, foreseen lecturers and
intended audience.

IMPORTANT DATES (extended dates!):

Submission of papers: January 20th, 2005
Acceptance notification by: March 15th,  2005
Camera ready copy due: April 15th, 2005
Colocated workshops proposals: January 31st, 2005


Lluís Godo (IIIA - CSIC, Spain)


Teresa Alsinet (Spain)                  John Bell (UK)
Isabelle Bloch (France)                 Salem Benferhat (France)
Philippe Besnard (France)               Gerd Brewka (Germany)
Luis M. de Campos (Spain)               Claudette Cayrol (France)
Carlos Chesñevar (Spain)                Agata Ciabattoni (Austria)
Giulianella Coletti (Italia)            Fabio Cozman (Brazil)
Adnan Darwiche (USA)                    James P. Delgrande (Canada)
Thierry Denoeux (France)                Javier Diez (Spain)
Marek Druzdzel (USA)                    Didier Dubois (France)
Francesc Esteva (Spain)                 Hélène Fargier (France)
Linda van der Gaag (Netherlands)        Hector Geffner (Spain)
Angelo Gilio (Italy)                    Michel Grabisch (France)
Petr Hájek (Czech Republic)             Andreas Herzig (France)
Eyke Huellermeier (Germany)             Anthony Hunter (UK)
Manfred Jaeger (Denmark)                Gabriele Kern-Isberner (Germany)
Jürg Kholas (Switzerland)               Ivan Kramosil (Czech Republic)
Rudolf Kruse (Germany)                  Jérôme Lang (France)
Jonathan Lawry (UK)                     Daniel Lehmann (Israel)
Pedro Larrañaga (Spain)                 Churn-Jung Liau (Taiwan)
Weiru Liu, (UK)                         Thomas Lukasiewicz (Italia)
Pierre Marquis (France)                 Khaled Mellouli (Tunisia)
Serafín Moral (Spain)                   Thomas Nielsen (Denmark)
Kristian Olesen (Denmark)               Ewa Orlowska (Poland)
Odile Papini (France)                   Simon Parsons (USA)
Luís Moniz Pereira (Portugal)           Ramon Pino-Pérez (Venezuela)
David Poole (Canada)                    Josep Puyol-Gruart (Spain)
Henri Prade (France)                    Maria Rifqi (France)
Alessandro Saffiotti (Sweden)           Sandra Sandri (Spain)
Ken Satoh (Japan)                       Torsten Schaub (Germany)
Romano Scozzafava (Italia)              Prakash P. Shenoy (USA)
Guillermo Simari (Argentina)            Philippe Smets (Belgium)
Claudio Sossai (Italy)                  Leon van der Torre(Netherlands)
Enric Trillas (Spain)                   Emil Weydert (Luxembourg)
Mary-Anne Williams (Australia)          Nevin L. Zhang (HK, China)


Teresa Alsinet (UdL, Spain)
Carlos Chesñevar (UdL , Spain)
Francesc Esteva (IIIA - CSIC, Spain)
Josep Puyol-Gruart (IIIA - CSIC, Spain)
Sandra Sandri (IIIA - CSIC, Spain)


Campus Univ. Autonoma Barcelona s/n
08193 Bellaterra, Spain
email: ecsqaru2005 at ecsqaru.org

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list