[Elsnet-list] Final CFP -- COLING-ACL Workshop on Multiword Expressions:Identifying and Exploiting Underlying Properties

m.b.villada.moiron at rug.nl m.b.villada.moiron at rug.nl
Wed Apr 12 14:04:48 CEST 2006

Dear colleagues,

Due to numerous requests we have extended the submission period until
midnight (GMT) 14th April. Please read on for more submission details.

      *** Extended deadline: midnight (GMT) April 14, 2006 ***

	    COLING-ACL Workshop on Multiword Expressions:
	   Identifying and Exploiting Underlying Properties

			 (Endorsed by SIGLEX)

		   July 23, 2006, Sydney, Australia

   WEB site: http://www.inf.ufrgs.br/~avillavicencio/mwe-acl06.html
   Submission page: http://www.softconf.com/acl/W12-COLINGACL2006/submit.html

Workshop Description:

There has been a growing awareness in the NLP community of the
problems that Multiword Expressions (MWEs) pose.  Given all the
progress that has been made, it is now the time to ask some
fundamental questions on the nature of MWEs. A better understanding of
the underlying linguistic properties that define MWEs as well as their
cognitive aspects can be used to inform their computational
treatment. These combinations of research will help to provide a more
complete picture of the nature of MWEs, which can be used to advance
NLP methods for capturing them.

This workshop continues a tradition of ACL workshops on Collocations
(2001) and Multiword Expressions (2003 and 2004). Its specific
objective is to focus on the underlying properties of MWEs.


We welcome papers describing original work on MWEs, and this includes
(but is not limited to) research on:

(1) Linguistic, Empirical and Cognitive Properties of MWEs: research
    into the definitions and properties of MWEs and the impact that
    such information has on NLP applications.  We will also welcome
    studies which investigate cross-linguistic properties or
    which identify variation across languages (or families of
    languages). This includes research on how to identify and
    handle parallel constructions in different languages: how easily
    can techniques developed for one language be transferred to
    another and how can cues in one language help in another?

(2) Classes of MWEs: investigating the representation of classes of
    MWEs and the extent to which classes of MWEs can be treated with
    common methods, to help assess how much we can expect
    computational techniques to transfer across classes. What methods
    are there for identifying variability in MWEs and how reliable are

(3) Linguistic and Psycholinguistic Theories of MWEs: combining the
    computational treatment of a class of MWEs with a solid linguistic
    and/or psycholinguistic analysis.

(4) Evaluation: addressing how to overcome the limitations that the
    lack of gold standards brings on the evaluation of techniques for
    automatic extraction, representation, and use of information about
    MWEs. What techniques are best for establishing standards - web
    experiments, expert judgements, etc. - and how can we best
    contribute to available resources?

(5) Compositionality: assessing how humans and computers can make
    reliable judgements on compositionality for the different
    categories of MWE and to what extent non-compositionality is
    important for determining whether a given candidate is a MWE.

Submissions should follow the two-column format of ACL proceedings and
should not exceed eight (8) pages, including references. We strongly
recommend the use of the LaTeX style files or Microsoft Word document
template that will be made available on the COLING-ACL main conference
Web site (http://www.acl2006.mq.edu.au/).

As reviewing will be blind, the paper should not include the authors'
names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the
author's identity, e.g., "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...",
should be avoided. Instead, use citations such as "Smith previously
showed (Smith, 1991) ...".

Submission will be electronic using the paper submission START system
(http://www.softconf.com/acl/W12-COLINGACL2006/submit.html), and they
must be in Adobe PDF format. The papers must be submitted no later
than April 14, 2006. Papers submitted after that time will not be
reviewed. For details of the submission procedure, please consult the
submission webpage reachable via the workshop website.

Important Dates:

Paper submission deadline: April 14, 2006 (midnight GMT)
Notification of acceptance for papers: May 12, 2006 
Camera ready papers due: May 26, 2006 
Workshop Date:  July 23, 2006 

Programme Committee:

Timothy Baldwin    (Stanford University, USA; Melbourne University, Australia)
Colin Bannard      (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Francis Bond       (NTT Communication Science Laboratories, Japan)
Gosse Bouma        (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)
Beatrice Daille    (Nantes University, France)
Gael Dias          (Beira Interior University, Portugal)
James Dowdall      (University of Sussex, UK)
Christiane Fellbaum  (Princeton University, USA)
Nicole Gregoire    (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)
Matthew Hurst      (Inteliseek, USA)
Nancy Ide          (Vassar College, USA)
Aravind Joshi      (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Kyo Kageura        (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)     
Anna Korhonen      (University of Cambridge, UK)
Brigitte Krenn     (OFAI, Vienna, Austria)
Mirella Lapata     (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Roger Levy         (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Rosamund Moon      (University of Birmingham, UK)
Stephan Oepen      (Stanford University, USA; University of Oslo, Norway)
Kentaro Ogura      (NTT Cyber Space Laboratories, Japan)
Darren Pearce      (University of Sussex, UK) 
Scott Piao         (University of Lancaster, UK)
Ivan Sag           (University of Stanford, USA)
Violeta Seretan    (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Beata Trawinski    (University of Tuebingen, Germany)
Kiyoko Uchiyama    (Keio University, Japan)
Tom Wasow          (Stanford University, USA)
Annie Zaenen       (PARC, USA)


For any inquiries regarding the workshop please contact Begona Villada
Moiron (mwe_iep06 at let.rug.nl).

Workshop organizing committee:

Begona Villada Moiron [Chair] (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)
Aline Villavicencio (Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Diana McCarthy (University of Sussex, UK)
Stefan Evert (University of Osnabrueck, Germany)
Suzanne Stevenson (University of Toronto, Canada)

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list