[Elsnet-list] CfP Interdisciplinary Workshop on "The Phonetics of Laughter"

Jürgen Trouvain trouvain at CoLi.Uni-SB.DE
Tue Oct 24 13:54:46 CEST 2006

Interdisciplinary Workshop on "The Phonetics of Laughter 
5 August 2007
Saarbrücken, Germany

First Call for Papers

Aim of the workshop
Research investigating the production, acoustics and perception of 
laughter is very rare. This is striking because laughter occurs as an 
everyday and highly communicative phonetic activity in spontaneous 
discourse. This workshop aims to bring researchers together from various 
disciplines to present their data, methods, findings, research 
questions, and ideas on the phonetics of laughter (and smiling).

The workshop will be held as a satellite event of the 16th International 
Congress of Phonetic Sciences <http://www.icphs2007.de/> in Saarbrücken, 

We invite submission of short papers of approximately 1500 words length. 
Oral presentations will be 15 minutes plus 5 minutes discussion time. 
Additionally, there will be a poster session.
All accepted papers will be available as on-line proceedings on the web, 
there will be no printed proceedings. We plan to publish selected 
contributions for a special issue in an international scientific journal.

All submissions will be reviewed anonymously by two reviewers.
Please send submissions by e-mail to laughter at coli.uni-sb.de specifying 
"short paper" in the subject line and providing
    1. for each author: name, title, affiliation in the body of the mail
    2. Title of paper
    3. Preference of presentation mode (oral or poster)
    4. Short paper as plain text
In addition you can submit audio files (as wav), graphical files (as 
jpg) and video clips (as mpg). All files together should not exceed 1 Mb.

Important dates
Submission deadline for short papers: March 16, 2007
Notification of acceptance: May 16, 2007
Early registration deadline: June 16, 2007
Workshop dates: August 5, 2007

Plenary lecture
Wallace Chafe (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Organisation Committee
Nick Campbell (ATR, Kyoto)
Wallace Chafe (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Jürgen Trouvain (Saarland University & Phonetik-Büro Trouvain, Saarbrücken)

Programme Committee
Kai Alter (Newcastle University Medical School, Newcastle-upon-Tyne)
Véronique Aubergé (Institut de la Communication Parlée, Grenoble)
Jo-Anne Bachorowski (Vanderbilt University, Nashville)
Hui-Chin Hsu (University of Georgia, Athens)
Daniel O'Connell (Georgetown University, Washington, DC)
Silke Kipper (Duke University, Durham, NC)
Sabine Kowal (Technical University Berlin)
Rod Martin (University of Western Ontario)
Lucie Ménard (Université du Québec à Montréal)
Shrikanth S. Narayanan (University of Southern California, Los Angeles)
Neal Norrick (Saarland University, Saarbrücken)
Eva Nwokah (Communic. Sciences and Disorders, Univ. of North Carolina, 
Willibald Ruch (University of Zürich)
Bernd Pompino-Marschall (Humboldt University Berlin)
Béatrice Priego-Valverde (University Aix-en-Provence)
Marc Schröder (German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence, DFKI, 
Diana Szameitat (Newcastle University Medical School, Newcastle-upon-Tyne)
Dietmar Todt (Free University Berlin)

The laughter workshop will take place in the Centre for Language 
Research and Language Technology on the campus of the Saarland 
University in Saarbrücken, Germany. The campus is located in the woods 
and is 5 km from the town centre of Saarbrücken.

Jürgen Trouvain
Saarland University
FR. 4.7: Computational Linguistics and Phonetics
Building C7.4
Postfach 15 11 50
66041 Saarbrücken
E-mail: laughter at coli.uni-sb.de

For more details see http://www.coli.uni-saarland.de/conf/laughter-07

Jürgen Trouvain
Local Organisation  ICPhS 2007 Germany  www.icphs2007.de
Saarland University
FR. 4.7: Phonetics
P.O. Box 15 11 50
D-66041 Saarbrücken
Tel.: +49 - (0)681 - 302 - 46 94 

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list