[Elsnet-list] ACM SIGIR 2008 - Final Call for Papers

Gareth Jones Gareth.Jones at computing.dcu.ie
Fri Jan 11 19:26:59 CET 2008

The 31st Annual International ACM SIGIR Conference

20-24 July 2008, Singapore

Final Call for Papers

SIGIR is the major international forum for the presentation of new
research results and for the demonstration of new systems and
techniques in the broad field of information retrieval (IR).  The
Conference and Program Chairs invite all those working in areas
related to IR to submit original papers, posters, and proposals for
tutorials, workshops, and demonstrations of systems.  SIGIR 2008
welcomes contributions related to any aspect of IR, including:

  IR Theory (e.g., formal models)
  IR Architectures (centralized, distributed, federated, peer-to-peer)
  Content representation and indexing
  Ranked retrieval
  Interactive IR
  IR Evaluation (e.g., test collections, metrics, experiment design)
  User Studies

  Machine learning for IR (e.g., clustering, learning to rank)
  IR Scalability and efficiency (including compression)
  Adversarial IR (e.g., email spam filtering, index spam, splog detection)
  User modeling for IR
  Information Extraction for IR
  Citation analysis for IR
  Non-topical analysis for IR
  Privacy in IR

  Text IR
  Structured document IR (e.g., XML)
  Language-specific IR (e.g., cross-language IR, multilingual IR)
  Metadata-based IR
  Social tagging
  Audio IR (e.g., music IR)
  Speech IR
  Image IR
  Video IR

  Web IR (e.g., link analysis, query log analysis, ad targeting)
  Question answering
  Enterprise search (including intranet search)
  Filtering (e.g., routing, collaborative filtering, topic tracking)
  Text mining (including speech mining, bibliometrics)
  Digital libraries
  Genomic IR
  Other domain-specific IR (e.g., legal IR, IR for chemical structures)
  Mobile IR


Important Dates
Monday, 21 Jan 2008: Mandatory abstracts due for full research papers
Monday, 28 Jan 2008: Final version of full research papers due
Sunday, 24 Feb 2008: Poster/demo/tutorial/workshop submissions due
Sunday,  2 Mar 2008: Doctoral consortium submissions due
Sunday,  6 Apr 2008: Notification for papers, posters, demos,
                      tutorials and workshops
     20-24 Jul 2008: Conference in Singapore


Information on how to submit is available at http://www.sigir2008.org/


General Co-Chairs: 
Tat-Seng Chua (National University of Singapore) 
Mun-Kew Leong (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore)

Technical Program Co-Chairs: 
Sung Hyon Myaeng (Information and Communications University, Korea) 
Douglas W. Oard (University of Maryland, USA) 
Fabrizio Sebastiani (National Research Council, Italy)

Posters and Demos Co-Chairs: 
Fabio Crestani (University of Lugano, Switzerland) 
Efthimis N. Efthimiadis (University of Washington, USA) 
Hang Li (Microsoft Research, China)

Tutorials Chair: 
Edie M. Rasmussen (University of British Columbia, Canada)

Workshop Co-Chairs: 
Peter Anick (Yahoo! Inc, USA) 
Hwee Tou Ng (National University of Singapore)

Mentoring Chair: 
Jian-Yun Nie (University of Montreal, Canada)

Best Paper Award Chair: 
Noriko Kando (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)

Doctoral Consortium Co-Chairs: 
Susan Dumais (Microsoft Research, USA) 
Andrew Trotman (University of Otago, New Zealand)

Senior Program Committee:
Eugene Agichtein (Emory University, USA)
Shlomo Argamon (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA)
Jamie Callan (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Soumen Chakrabarti (IIT Bombay, India)
Hsin-Hsi Chen (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Lee-Feng Chien (Google, Taiwan)
Gordon Cormack (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Nick Craswell (Microsoft Research, UK)
Maarten de Rijke (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Edward Fox (Virginia Tech, USA)
Julio Gonzalo (UNED, Spain)
Sanda Harabagiu (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Donna Harman (NIST, USA)
Djoerd Hiemstra (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
Thomas Hoffman (Google, Switzerland)
Thorsten Joachims (Cornell University, USA)
Gareth Jones (Dublin City University, Ireland)
Rosie Jones (Yahoo! Research, USA)
David Karger (MIT, USA)
Jaana Kekäläinen (University of Tampere, Finland)
Diane Kelly (University of North Carolina, USA)
Wai Lam (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Tie-Yan Liu (Microsoft Research, China)
Yoelle Maarek (Google, Israel)
Gary Marchionini (University of North Carolina, USA)
Massimo Melucci (University of Padova, Italy)
Jan Pedersen (Yahoo! Research, USA)
Berthier Ribeiro-Neto (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
Hae-Chang Rim (Korea University, Korea)
Stefan Rueger (The Open University, UK)
Mark Sanderson (University of Sheffield, UK)
Luo Si (Purdue University, USA)
Ian Soboroff (NIST, USA)
Ross Wilkinson (CSIRO, Australia)
Hugh Williams (Microsoft Research, USA)
ChengXiang Zhai (University of Illinois, USA)

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list