[Elsnet-list] Re: deadline ext. - Comp. Morphology and Phonology Workshop (SIGMORPHON) at ACL-08: HLT

Jason Eisner jason at cs.jhu.edu
Mon Mar 17 18:18:50 CET 2008

            Second Call for Papers -- EXTENDED DEADLINE

                                ACL 2008

                           Tenth Meeting of the
                        ACL Special Interest Group
                        in Computational Morphology
                               and Phonology

            *** Deadline extended: now Mon 24 Mar 2008 ***

                          Ohio State University
                              Columbus, Ohio
                               June 19, 2008

This is SIGMORPHON's first workshop whose scope reflects the SIG's new
charter, which has expanded with ACL's approval to include morphology
and phonetics as well as phonology.

The purpose of the workshop is to bring together researchers interested
in applying computational techniques to problems in morphology,
phonology, and phonetics.  Papers will be on substantial, original, and
unpublished research on these topics, potentially including strong work
in progress.  Appropriate topics include (but are not limited to) the
following as they relate to the areas of the workshop:

* New formalisms, or computational treatments of existing linguistic
* Probabilistic models and machine learning
* Unsupervised or semi-supervised learning of linguistic knowledge
* Analysis or exploitation of multilingual, multi-dialectal, or
  diachronic data
* Algorithms, including finite-state methods
* Speech technologies relating to phonetics or phonology
* Instructional technologies for second-language learners
* Psycholinguistics and speech science (both production and
* Machine transliteration and back-transliteration
* Corpus linguistics
* Integration of morphology, phonology, or phonetics with other NLP
* Tools and resources

One of the missions of SIGMORPHON is to encourage interaction between
work in computational linguistics and work in theoretical and empirical
linguistics. Our recent meetings have been successful in this regard,
and we hope to see this continue in 2008.  Many mainstream linguists
studying phonetics, phonology, and morphology are now asking and
answering computational questions.  We hope that this workshop will
allow the CL community to consider their problems, tools, and models.

This workshop will be the tenth meeting of SIGMORPHON (formerly called
SIGPHON). We will hold a full-day workshop consisting of approximately
10 half-hour presentations.

The workshop will be held on June 19, immediately after the ACL
2008 meetings at Ohio-State University in Columbus, Ohio.

The workshop website is:

Important Dates
* Submission Deadline: Monday, March 24, 2008, 20:00 EDT
* Notification: April 16, 2008
* Camera-ready Copy Due: April 30, 2008
* Workshop: June 19, 2008

Paper Submission
Content: Papers should be original, topical, and clear. Completed work
is preferable to intended work, but in any event the paper should
clearly indicate the state of completion of the reported results.
Authors are encouraged to study the actual form used by reviewers
(http://phonology.cogsci.udel.edu/sigmorphon2008/review-form.html) to
assess papers.

Submission Format: The only accepted format for submitted papers is
Adobe PDF. Submissions should follow the two-column format of ACL
proceedings, and should not exceed eight (8) pages. One additional page
is allowed for the References section.  Thus, your PDF file may be 9
pages. However, all material other than the bibliography must fall
within the first 8 pages!  We strongly recommend the use of the LaTeX
style files or Microsoft Word document template that are available on
the ACL conference web site
(http://www.ling.ohio-state.edu/acl08/stylefiles.html).  We reserve the
right to reject submissions that do not conform to these styles,
including font size restrictions.

Anonymous Review: The paper should not include the authors' names and
affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author's
identity, e.g., "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...", should be
avoided. Instead, use citations such as "Smith previously showed (Smith,
1991) ...". Papers that do not conform to these requirements will be
rejected without review.

Conflicts of Interest: Authors should mark on the submission page any
program committee member with whom they have a conflict of interest,
such as a recent collaborator, a recent colleague at the same
institution, or a close personal friend.

Double Submitting: Papers that have been or will be submitted to other
meetings or publications must provide this information on the START
online submission page. Papers may not be submitted to SIGMORPHON 2008
if they are currently or will be submitted to other meetings or
publications and that other meeting or publication prohibits multiple
submission. If SIGMORPHON 2008 accepts a paper, authors must notify the
program chairs *immediately* indicating which meeting they choose for
presentation of their work. SIGMORPHON 2008 cannot accept for
publication or presentation work that will be (or has been) published

Submission Procedure: Authors must submit papers online here:

The submission deadline is Monday March 24, 2008 20:00 EDT. Papers
submitted after the deadline will not be reviewed.

Organizers and Program Committee
This year's program committee consists of the following individuals:

Adam Albright, MIT
Lynne Cahill, University of Brighton
Mathias Creutz, Helsinki University of Technology
Jason Eisner, Johns Hopkins University (co-chair)
Mark Ellison, University of Western Australia
Eric Fosler-Lussier, Ohio State University
John Goldsmith, University of Chicago
Sharon Goldwater, Stanford University
Nizar Habash, Columbia University
Jeffrey Heinz, University of Delaware (co-chair)
Katrin Kirchhoff, University of Washington
Greg Kondrak, University of Alberta
Kimmo Koskenniemi, University of Helskinki
Ying Lin, University of Arizona
Mike Maxwell, University of Maryland
John Nerbonne, University of Groningen
Kemal Oflazer, Sabanci University
Gerald Penn, University of Toronto
Jason Riggle, University of Chicago
Richard Sproat, University of Illinois
Richard Wicentowski, Swarthmore University
Shuly Wintner, University of Haifai

The program chairs may invite additional reviewers as necessary to
obtain relevant expertise and avoid conflicts of interest.

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list