[Elsnet-list] DEBS 09 Call for Papers

Patrick Eugster peugster at cs.purdue.edu
Wed Nov 19 05:50:22 CET 2008

(Our apologies if you receive multiple copies of this message)

Call for Papers

3rd ACM International Conference on Distributed Event-based Systems  
(DEBS 2009)
July 6-9, 2009, Nashville, TN, USA
Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA

Conference web site: http://debs09.isis.vanderbilt.edu


Important Dates:

Abstract submission: February 23, 2009
Paper submission: March 2, 2009
Author notification: April 27, 2009
Final manuscript: May 18, 2009


Event-based systems are rapidly gaining importance in many application
domains ranging from real time monitoring systems in production,
logistics and networking to complex event processing in finance
and security. The event based paradigm has gathered momentum as
witnessed by efforts in areas including publish/subscribe systems,
event-driven architectures, complex event processing, business
process management and modeling, Grid computing, Web services
notifications, information dissemination, event stream processing,
and message-oriented middleware. The various communities dealing
with event based systems have made progress in different aspects
of the problem. The DEBS conference attempts to bring together
researchers and practitioners active in the various sub communities
to share their views and reach a common understanding. The scope of
the conference covers all topics relevant to event-based computing
ranging from those discussed in related disciplines (e.g., coordination,
software engineering, peer-to-peer systems, Grid computing, and  
databases), over domain-specific topics of event-based computing
(e.g., workflow management systems, mobile computing, pervasive/ 
computing, sensor networks, user interfaces, component integration,
Web services, and embedded systems), to enterprise related topics
(e.g., complex event detection, enterprise application integration,
real time enterprises, and Web services notifications).
The topics addressed by the conference include (but are not limited to):

Models, Architectures and Paradigms
* Event-driven architectures
* Basic interaction models
* Event algebras, event schemas and type systems
* Languages for event correlation and patterns, streaming and
continuous queries, data fusion
* Models for static and dynamic environments
* Complex event processing
* Design and programming methodologies
* Event-based business process management and modeling
* Experimental methodologies
* Performance modeling and prediction based on analytic approaches

Middleware for Event-Based Computing
* Federated event-based systems
* Middleware for actuator and sensor networks
* Algorithms and protocols
* Event dissemination based on p2p systems
* Context and location awareness
* Fault-tolerance, reliability, availability, and recovery
* Security issues
* (Self-)Management
* Mobility and resource constrained device support
* Streaming queries, transformations, or correlation engines

Applications, Experiences, and Requirements
* Use cases and applications of event-based systems
* Real-world application deployments using event-based middleware
* Domain-specific deployments of event-based systems
* Real-world data characterizing event-based applications
* Benchmarks, performance evaluations, and testbeds
* Application requirements for next-generation event-based solutions
* Relation to other architectures
* Enterprise application integration
* Event-driven business process management
* Information logistics
* Seamless integration of event-based mechanisms into middleware  

Author Instructions
Three types of paper submissions will be accepted: research papers,
industry papers, and demo papers. Submitted papers should clearly
indicate their type. Papers must not exceed the given number of
pages for the respective paper type:
Research Papers: (max. 12 pages),
Industry Papers: (max. 8 pages),
Demo Papers: (max. 4 pages).

DEBS 09 will have separate program committees for the research and
industry track. A separate CFP will be issued for tutorial proposals.

Submissions must be in the ACM format for conference proceedings.
DEBS 09 will use EasyChair for paper submissions. The conference adopts
a double blind review process, where neither authors nor reviewers know
each others' identities. Accepted papers will be published by ACM and
disseminated through the ACM Digital Library.

Conference Location
Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA

Conference Organization
General co-Chairs:
Dr. Douglas C. Schmidt (Vanderbilt University, USA)
Dr. Aniruddha Gokhale (Vanderbilt University, USA)

Program co-Chairs:
Dr. Calton Pu (Georgia Tech, USA)
Dr. Bugra Gedik (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA)

Industry Chair:
Dr. Opher Etzion (IBM Research Laboratory in Haifa, Israel)

Tutorial Chair:
Dr. Peter R. Pietzuch (Imperial College London, UK)

Publicity co-Chairs:
Dr. Vana Kalogeraki (University of California, Riverside, USA)
Dr. Beth Plale (Indiana University, USA)
Dr. Patrick Eugster (Purdue University, USA)

Local Arrangements:
Dr. Jules White and James Hill (Vanderbilt University, USA)

Web Chair:
Kevin Webb (ISIS, Vanderbilt University, USA)

Program Committee:

Karl Aberer, EPFL, Switzerland
Raman Adaikkalavan, Indiana University South Bend, USA
Paulo Alencar, University of Waterloo, Canada
Henrique Andrade, IBM T.J. Watson, USA
Umesh Bellur, Indian Institute of Technology, India
Marin Bertier, IRISA/INSA-Rennes, France
Antonio Carzaniga, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Sharma Chakravarthy, University of Texas Arlington, USA
Gregory Chockler, IBM Haifa, Israel
Mariano Cilia, Intel Cordoba, Argentina
Gianpaolo Cugola, Politecnico di Milano University, Italy
Renato Ferreira, Ohio State University, USA
Christof Fetzer, Dresden University of Technology, Germany
Dimitrios Georgakopoulos, CSIRO ICT Centre, Australia
Jonathan Goldstein, Microsoft Research, USA
Manfred Hauswirth, DERI, National University of Ireland, Ireland
Annika Hinze, University of Waikato, New Zealand
Navendu Jain, Microsoft Research, USA
Vana Kalogeraki, University of California at Riverside, USA
Boris Koldehofe, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Charles Krasic, University of British Columbia, Canada
Pedro Jose Marron, University of Bonn and Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
Adrian Paschke, Free University Berlin, Germany
Peter R. Pietzuch, Imperial College London, UK
Beth A. Plale, Indiana University, USA
Lakshmish Ramaswamy, University of Georgia, USA
Kurt Rothermel, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Maarten Van Steen, VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands
Sasu Tarkoma, Helsinki Institute for Information Technology and Nokia  
Research Center, Finland
Nesime Tatbul, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Seth White, BEA Systems / Oracle, USA
Alexander L. Wolf, Imperial College, England
Jianwei Yin, Zhejian University, China

Industrial Program Committee:

Rainer von Ammon - CITT
Jerry Baulier - Aleri
Brian Connell - WestGlobal
Eliezer Dekel - IBM
Dieter Gawlick - Oracle
Serge Mankowskii - CA
Peter Niblett - IBM
Guy Sharon - IBM
Richard Tibbetts - Streambase
Paul Vincent - TIBCO

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list