[Elsnet-list] DiaHolmia 2009: 1st call for papers

Gabriel Skantze gabriel.skantze at gmail.com
Fri Oct 24 13:47:09 CEST 2008


KTH, Stockholm, Sweden, 24-26 June, 2009

The SemDial series of workshops aims to bring together researchers 
working on the semantics and pragmatics of dialogue in fields such as 
artificial intelligence, computational linguistics, formal 
semantics/pragmatics, philosophy, psychology, and neural science. 
DiaHolmia will be the 13th workshop in the SemDial series, and will be 
organized at the Department of Speech Music and Hearing, KTH (Royal 
Institute of Technology). KTH is Scandinavia's largest institution of 
higher education in technology and is located in central Stockholm 
(Holmia in Latin).

WEBSITE: www.diaholmia.org


Full 8-page papers:
Submission due: 22 March 2009
Notification of acceptance: 25 April 2009
Final version due: 7 May 2009

2-page poster or demo descriptions:
Submission due: 25 April 2009
Notification of acceptance: 7 May 2009

DiaHolmia 2009: 24-26 June 2009 (Wednesday-Friday)


We invite papers on all topics related to the semantics and pragmatics 
of dialogues, including, but not limited to:

- common ground/mutual belief
- turn-taking and interaction control
- dialogue and discourse structure
- goals, intentions and commitments
- natural language understanding/semantic interpretation
- reference, anaphora and ellipsis
- collaborative and situated dialogue
- multimodal dialogue
- extra- and paralinguistic phenomena
- categorization of dialogue phenomena in corpora
- designing and evaluating dialogue systems
- incremental, context-dependent processing
- reasoning in dialogue systems
- dialogue management

Full papers will be in the usual 8-page, 2-column format. There will 
also be poster and demo presentations. The selection of posters and 
demos will be based on 2-page descriptions. Selected descriptions will 
be included in the proceedings.

Details on the invited speakers, submission format and procedure and 
local arrangements will be announced at a later date.


Jan Alexandersson, Srinivas Bangalore, Ellen Gurman Bard, Anton Benz, 
Johan Bos, Johan Boye, Harry Bunt, Donna Byron, Jean Carletta, Robin 
Cooper, Paul Dekker, Giuseppe Di Fabbrizio, Raquel Fernández, Claire 
Gardent, Simon Garrod, Jonathan Ginzburg, Pat Healey, Peter Heeman, 
Joris Hulstijn, Michael Johnston, Kristiina Jokinen, Arne Jönsson, 
Alistair Knott, Ivana Kruijff-Korbayova, Staffan Larsson, Oliver Lemon, 
Ian Lewin, Diane Litman, Susann Luperfoy, Colin Matheson, Nicolas 
Maudet, Michael McTear, Wolfgang Minker, Philippe Muller, Fabio Pianesi, 
Martin Pickering, Manfred Pinkal, Paul Piwek, Massimo Poesio, Alexandros 
Potamianos, Matthew Purver, Manny Rayner, Hannes Rieser, Laurent Romary, 
Alex Rudnicky, David Schlangen, Stephanie Seneff, Ronnie Smith, Mark 
Steedman, Amanda Stent, Matthew Stone, David Traum, Marilyn Walker and 
Mats Wirén


Jens Edlund
Joakim Gustafson
Anna Hjalmarsson
Gabriel Skantze

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list