[Elsnet-list] ICST - Intetain 2009: Call for Demos

info at icst.org info at icst.org
Thu Jan 29 13:22:21 CET 2009

Intetain 2009, Amsterdam, 22-24th June 2009 
Third International Conference on Intelligent Technologies for 
Interactive Entertainment


intetain at ewi.utwente.nl


Technical Sponsor: 

==== OVERVIEW ==== 
The Human Media Interaction (HMI) department of the University of Twente in the Netherlands and the Institute for Computer Sciences, Social-Informatics and Telecommunications Engineering  (ICST) are pleased to announce the Third International Conference on Intelligent Technologies for Interactive Entertainment to be held on June 22-24, 2009 in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. 

INTETAIN 09 intends to stimulate interaction among academic researchers and commercial developers of interactive entertainment systems. We are seeking long (full) and short (poster) papers as well as proposals for interactive demos. In addition, the conference organisation aims at an interactive hands-on session along the lines of the Design Garage that was held at INTETAIN 2005. Individuals who want to organise special sessions during INTETAIN 09 may contact the General Chair, Anton Nijholt (a.nijholt at ewi.utwente.nl).

The global theme of this third edition of the international conference is “Playful interaction, with others and with the environment”.

Contributions may, for example, contribute to this theme by focusing on the Supporting Device Technologies underlying interactive systems (mobile devices, home entertainment centers, haptic devices, wall screen displays, information kiosks, holographic displays, fog screens, distributed smart sensors, immersive screens and wearable devices), on the Intelligent Computational Technologies used to build the interactive systems, or by discussing the Interactive Applications for Entertainment themselves.

==== CALL FOR DEMOS ====
We actively seek proposals from both industry and academia for interactive demos to be held during a dedicated session at the conference. Demos may accompany a long or short paper. Also, demos may be submitted at a later deadline instead, with a short, two page extended abstract explaining the demo and showing why the demo would be a worthwhile contribution for the INTETAIN 09's demo session.

== Format ==
Demo submissions should be accompanied by the following additional information:
 * A short description of the setup and demo (2 paragraphs)
 * Requirements (hardware, power, network, space, 
     sound conditions, etc, time needed for setup)
 * A sketch or photo of the setup

Videos showing the demonstration setup in action are very welcome.

== Review ==
Demo proposals will be reviewed by a review team that will take into account aspects such as novelty, relevance to the conference, coverage of topics and available resources.

== Topics == 
 * Topics for demo submissions include, but are not limited to:
 * New technology for interaction and entertainment
 * (serious) gaming
 * New entertainment applications
 * BCI
 * Human Music Interaction
 * Music technology
 * Edutainment
 * Exertion interfaces

Submission deadline: 
Monday, Februari 16, 2009 

Monday, March 16, 2009 

Camera ready submission deadline: 
Monday, March 30, 2009

Late demo submission deadline (extended abstract only!): 
Monday, March 30, 2009

June 22-24, 2009, Amsterdam, the Netherlands

==== COMMITTEE ====
General Program Chair: 
Anton Nijholt, Human Media Interaction, University of Twente, the Netherlands

Local Chair: 
Dennis Reidsma, Human Media Interaction, University of Twente, the Netherlands

Web Master and Publication Chair: 
Hendri Hondorp, Human Media Interaction, University of Twente, the Netherlands

ICST Conference Coordinator:
Maria Morozova, ICST

Steering Committee Chair: 
Imrich Chlamtac, CREATE-NET

Stefan Agamanolis, Distance Lab, Forres, UK
Elisabeth André, Augsburg University, Germany
Lora Aroyo, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Tilde Bekker, University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Regina Bernhaupt, University of Salzburg, Austria
Mark Billinghurst, HIT Lab, New Zealand
Kim Binsted , University of Hawai, USA
Tony Brooks, Aalborg University Esbjerg, Denmark
Andreas Butz, University of Munich, Germany
Yang Cai, Visual Intelligence Studio, CYLAB, Carnegie Mellon, USA
Antonio Camurri, University of Genoa, Italy
Marc Cavazza, University of Teesside, UK
Tat-Jen Cham Nanyang, Technological University, Singapore
Keith Cheverst, University of Lancaster, UK
Drew Davidson, CMU, Pittsburgh, USA
Berry Eggen, University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Arjan Egges, University of Utrecht, the Netherlands
Anton Eliens, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Steven Feiner, Columbia University, New York
Alois Ferscha, University of Linz, Austria
Matthew Flagg, Georgia Tech, USA
Jaap van den Herik, University of Tilburg, the Netherlands
Dirk Heylen, University of Twente, the Netherlands
Catholijn Jonker, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
Frank Kresin, Waag Society, Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Antonio Krueger, University of Muenster, Germany
Tsvi Kuflik, University of Haifa, Israel
Markus Löckelt, DFKI Saarbrücken, Germany
Evert van Loenen, Philips, Netherlands
Henry Lowood, University of Stanford, USA
Maic Masuch, University of Duisberg-Essen, Germany
Mark Maybury, MITRE, Boston, USA
Oscar Mayora, Create-Net Research Consortium, Italy
John-Jules Meijer, University of Utrecht, the Netherlands
Louis-Philippe Morency, Institute for Creative Technologies, USC, USA
Florian 'Floyd' Mueller, University of Melbourne, Australia
Patrick Olivier, University of Newcastle, UK
Paolo Petta, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
Fabio Pianesi, ITC-irst, Trento, Italy
Helmut Prendinger, National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan
Matthias Rauterberg, University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Charles Rich, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Mark Riedl, Institute for Creative Technologies, USC, USA
Isaac Rudomin, Monterrey Institute of Technology, Mexico
Ulrike Spierling, FH/University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Pieter Spronck, University of Tilburg, the Netherlands
Oliviero Stock, ITC-irst, Trento, Italy
Carlo Strapparava, ITC-irst, Trento, Italy
Bill Swartout, Institute for Creative Technologies, USC, USA
Mariet Theune, University of Twente, the Netherlands
Thanos Vasilakos, University of Western Macedonia, Greece
Sean White, Columbia University, USA
Woontack Woo Gwangju, Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
Wijnand IJsselstein, University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Massimo Zancanaro, ITC-irst, Trento, Italy

You are reading ICST conference newsletter. To report any kind of abuse, please contact admin at icst.org.
To unsubscribe, please visit the following page: http://ipool.icstserver.org/unsubscribe.php?p=ipunxhxjno and enter your email address.

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list