[Elsnet-list] CfP: Benelearn 09

Menno van Zaanen M.M.vanZaanen at uvt.nl
Fri Jan 30 16:20:29 CET 2009

Apologies to those of you who receive this more than once.

                             18th Annual
             Belgian-Dutch Conference on Machine Learning
                            (Benelearn 09)
              2nd Call for Papers and Extended Abstracts

                          18 and 19 May 2009
                          Tilburg University

                Submission deadline: 21 February 2009


Benelearn is the annual machine learning conference of Belgium and The
Netherlands.  It serves as a forum for researchers to exchange ideas,
present recent work, and foster collaboration in the broad field of
Machine Learning and its applications.

Benelearn 09 will be organised by the Tilburg centre for Creative
Computing of Tilburg University.  The conference will take place on 18
and 19 May 2009 at Tilburg University, Tilburg, the Netherlands.

Contributions are now being invited that are relevant to machine
learning and related disciplines in a broad sense. 


We invite the submission of extended abstracts and papers on all
aspects of machine learning and related disciplines, including, but
not limited to

Kernel Methods
Web/Link Mining
Bayesian Networks
Case-based Learning
Computational Learning Theory
Data Mining
Evolutionary Computation
Hybrid Learning Systems
Graphical Models
Inductive Learning
Inductive Logic Programming
Knowledge Discovery in Databases
Language Learning
Learning and Problem Solving
Learning by Analogy
Learning in Multi-Agent Systems
Learning in Dynamic Domains
Learning for Bioinformatics
Multi-strategy Learning
Neural Networks
Reinforcement Learning
Robot Learning
Scientific Discovery
Statistical Learning
Probabilistic Logic Learning
Computational models of Human Learning
Learning for Language and Speech
Applications of Machine Learning
Learning and Ubiquitous Computing


Submissions are possible as either paper or extended abstract.

Papers should present original, completed and unpublished research.
Presentation at the conference will be in the form of a talk.

Extended abstracts may present current, but also possible future
research.  For example, you may wish to outline a project that you are
interested in, describe and discuss the Big Question in your field,
describe and discuss a new or controversial idea, appeal for
collaboration, or provide an overview of your career so far.
Presentation at the conference will be in the form of a speed talk and
a poster.

All submissions are to be formatted using the EACL 2009 style files
(http://www.eacl2009.gr/conference/authors).  Papers should have up to
8 pages; extended abstracts up to 2 pages.

Papers and extended abstracts should be submitted electronically, no
later than Saturday 21 February, 2009.  The only accepted format for
submitted papers is PDF.

The reviewing process of the papers will be blind; thus these
submissions should not include the authors' names and affiliations or
any references to web sites, project names etc. revealing the authors'
identity.  Each paper submission will be reviewed by at least two
members of the program committee.  Extended abstracts will also be
reviewed, but due to the nature of the extended abstracts reviewing
will not be blind.  All accepted submissions will be published in the
workshop proceedings.

Important dates

21 February, 2009    - Deadline for paper submission
20 March, 2009       - Notification of acceptance
20 April, 2009       - Camera-ready copies due
18 and 19 May, 2009  - Belgian-Dutch Conference on Machine Learning

Programme Committee

Hendrik Blockeel, K.U. Leuven 
Gianluca Bontempi, U.L. Bruxelles  
Antal van den Bosch, Tilburg University  
Walter Daelemans, University of Antwerp
Pierre Dupont, U.C. Louvain  
Damien Ernst, University of LiÚge  
Marieke van Erp, Tilburg University  
Ad Feelders, Universiteit Utrecht  
Bart Goethals, Antwerp University  
Tom Heskes, Radboud University Nijmegen  
Bernard Manderick, Vrije Universiteit Brussel  
Raphaël Marée, University of LiÚge  
Bart de Moor, K.U. Leuven  
Martijn van Otterlo, K.U. Leuven  
Justus Piater, University of LiÚge
Luc De Raedt, K.U. Leuven  
Jan Ramon, K.U. Leuven  
Yvan Saeys, Ghent University  
Rodolphe Sepulchre, University of LiÚge  
Evgueni Smirnov, Maastricht University  
Maarten van Someren, Universiteit van Amsterdam  
Kristel Van Steen, University of LiÚge  
Herman Stehouwer, Tilburg University  
Johan Suykens, K.U. Leuven  
Koenraad VanHoof, Universiteit Hasselt  
Michel Verleysen, U.C. Louvain  
Paul Vitanyi, Centrum voor Wiskunde en Informatica  
Louis Wehenkel, University of LiÚge  
Menno van Zaanen, Tilburg University   
Others to be confirmed

Organizing Committee

Marieke van Erp   M.G.J.vanErp (at) uvt.nl
Herman Stehouwer  J.H.Stehouwer (at) uvt.nl
Menno van Zaanen  mvzaanen (at) uvt.nl

Tilburg centre for Creative Computing
Department of Communication and Information Sciences
Tilburg University
The Netherlands


Menno van Zaanen
Tilburg centre for Creative Computing
Department of Communication and Information Sciences
Tilburg University
The Netherlands
mvzaanen (at) uvt.nl

Workshop website


More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list