[Elsnet-list] ICMI-MLMI 2009 Call for participant, early registration deadline is 09/18/2009

Yang Liu yangl at HLT.UTDALLAS.EDU
Mon Sep 14 20:10:12 CEST 2009

    =========   ICMI-MLMI 2009 Call for participant  ==========
                 Cambridge, MA, USA  November 2-6

Early bird registration deadline is Midnight Sep 18, 2009,
Registration page: http://icmi2009.acm.org/Registration.html

The conference will take place at the MIT Media Lab, widely known for its
innovative spirit. Organized in Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA, ICMI-MLMI 09 
provides an excellent setting for brainstorming and sharing the latest
advances in multimodal interaction, systems and methods in an inspired 
setting of a city, known as one of the top historical, technological and 
scientific centers of the US.

Technical program is online,
see http://icmi2009.acm.org/Program.html for more information.

Invited speakers:

Cynthia Breazeal, MIT "Living Better with Robots";

Stephen Brewster, University of Glasgow;

Frédéric Kaplan, Sony Computer Science Laboratory, "Are Gesture-based 
Interfaces The Future of Human Computer Interaction?"

Program commitee:

General Co-chairs:
     James Crowley, INRIA
     Yuri Ivanov, MERL
     Christopher Wren, Google
Program Co-Chairs
     Daniel Gatica-Perez, Idiap Research Institute
     Michael Johnston, AT&T Research
     Rainer Stiefelhagen University of Karlsruhe
     Janet McAndless,MERL
     Hervé Bourlard, Idiap Research Institute
Student Chair
     Rana el Kaliouby, MIT Media Lab
Student Volunteer Chair
     Matthew Berlin, MIT Media Lab
Local Arrangements
     Clifton Forlines, MERL
     Deb Roy, MIT Media Lab
     Thanks to Cole Krumbholz, MITRE
     Sonya Allin , University of Toronto
     Yang Liu, University of Texas at Dallas
     Louis-Philippe Morency , University of South California
     Xilin Chen, JDL
     Steve Renals, University of Edinburgh
     Denis Lalanne, University of Fribourg
     Enrique Vidal, Polytechnic University of Valencia
     Kenji Mase, University of Nagoya

ICMI Advisory Board
     Matthew Turk, Chair, UC Santa Barbara (USA)
     Jim Crowley, INRIA-Rhone Alpes (France)
     Trevor Darrell, UCB/ICSI (USA)
     Kenji Mase, University of Nagoya (Japan)
     Eric Horvitz, Microsoft Research (USA)
     Sharon Oviatt, Adapx (USA)
     Fabio Pianesi, ITC-irst (Italy)
     Wolfgang Wahlster, DFKI (Germany)
     Jie Yang, Carnegie Mellon University (USA)

MLMI Advisory Board
    Hervé Bourlard, Idiap Research Institute (Switzerland)
    Steve Renals, University of Edinburgh (UK)
    Sharon Oviatt, Adapx (USA)
    Rainer Stiefelhagen, Universitaet Karlsruhe (Germany)
    Jean Carletta, University of Edinburgh (UK)
    Catherine Pelachaud, CNRS (France)
    Sadaoki Furui, Tokyo Institute of Technology (Japan)
    Samy Bengio, Google (USA)
    Andrei Popescu-Belis, Idiap Research Institute (Switzerland)

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list