[Elsnet-list] Second CFP NAACL-HLT 2010 Workshop on Emotion in Text

Diana Inkpen diana at site.uottawa.ca
Fri Feb 5 15:55:20 CET 2010


NAACL-HLT 2010 Workshop on Computational Approaches to
Analysis and Generation of Emotion in Text
June 5 or 6, Los Angeles, CA


Submission Deadline: March 1, 2010

The automatic detection of emotions in texts and the generation of texts
that express emotions is important for applications such as natural
language interfaces, e-learning environments, and educational or
entertainment games. These aspects are also important in opinion mining
and sentiment analysis, and in the larger area of affective computing.

This workshop will provide a forum for discussion between leading names
and researchers involved in processing emotions in the context of
natural language understanding, natural language generation, or
applications in which computational approaches to the processing of
emotions are useful. Besides methodologies and techniques for emotion
analysis and generation, we also encourage the submission of papers that
experiment with and describe applicative contexts in which analysis and
detection of affective aspects are useful and beneficial.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- emotion analysis in sentences and documents;
- classification of texts by emotion and mood;
- the generation of sentences that express emotions;
- emotion processing across different languages;
- the analysis of sentiment and opinion that contains emotional aspects;
- argumentation that includes emotions and opinions;
- emotion analysis in automatic speech transcripts;
- applications in which affective aspects are beneficial;
- other aspects of the computational treatment of emotion and affect.


Mar 1, 2010 Deadline for workshop papers
Mar 30, 2010 Notification of acceptance
Apr 12, 2010 Camera-ready papers due
Jun 5 or 6, 2010 Workshop date

Submission instructions:

Authors are invited to submit full papers on original, unpublished work
in the topic area of this workshop. Submissions should be formatted
using the NAACL 2010 stylefiles, with blind review and not exceeding 8
pages plus an extra page for references. The stylefiles are available at
The PDF files will be submitted electronically through the NAACL
submission system at:

Organizing committee

Diana Inkpen (University of Ottawa, Canada)
Carlo Strapparava (FBK-IRST, Povo-Trento, Italy)

Programme Committee

Cecilia Ovesdotter Alm (Cornell University, USA)
Carmen Banea (University of North Texas, USA)
Sabine Bergler (Concordia University, Canada)
Robert Dale (Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia)
Andrea Esuli (Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerca, Italy)
Viola Ganter (EML Research gGmbH, Heidelberg, Germany)
Degen Huang (Dalian University of Technology, China)
Mitsuru Ishizuka (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Shahzad Khan (Whyz Technologies Inc., Ottawa, Canada)
Zornitsa Kozareva (University of Southern California / Information
Sciences Institute, USA)
Saif Mohammad (National Research Council, Canada)
Alena Neviarouskaya (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Alexander Osherenko (University of Augsburg, Germany)
Fuji Ren (University of Tokushima, Japan)
Victoria Rubin (University of Western Ontario, Canada)
Stan Szpakowicz (University of Ottawa, Canada)
Theresa Wilson (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Maite Taboada (Simon Fraser University, Canada)

Diana Inkpen
University of Ottawa
School of Information Technology and Engineering (SITE)
800 King Edward, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1N 6N5
Tel: (613) 562-5800 ext. 6711, Fax: (613) 562-5664
Office: SITE, Room 5015
Email: diana at site.uottawa.ca


More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list