[Elsnet-list] CFP: Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics CMCL 2012

David Reitter reitter at cmu.edu
Fri Dec 16 18:12:19 CET 2011

Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics (CMCL-2012)

A workshop to be held June 7, 2012
at the North American Association for Computational Linguistics meeting (NAACL-HLT) 
in Montreal, Quebec



Workshop Description

This workshop provides a venue for work in computational psycholinguistics. ACL Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Martin Kay described this topic as "build[ing] models of language that reflect in some interesting way on the ways in which people use language." The 2012 workshop follows in the tradition of several previous meetings
	•  the computational psycholinguistics meeting at CogSci in Berkeley in 1997
	•  the Incremental Parsing workshop at ACL 2004
	•  the first two CMCL workshops at ACL 2010 and ACL 2011

in inviting contributions that apply methods from computational linguistics to problems in the cognitive modeling of any and all natural language abilities.
Scope and Topics

The workshop invites a broad spectrum of work in the cognitive science of language, at all levels of analysis from sounds to discourse. Topics include, but are not limited to

	• incremental parsers for diverse grammar formalisms
	• derivations of comprehension difficulty predictions, or predictions regarding generalization in language learning
	• stochastic models of factors encouraging one production or interpretation over its competitors
	• models of semantic interpretation, including psychologically realistic notions of word meaning, phrase meaning, and composition
	• models and empirical analysis of the relationship between mechanistic psycholinguistic principles and pragmatic or semantic adaptation, usually in dialogue
	• models of human language acquisition
	• models of linguistic information propagation and language evolution in communication networks


This call solicits full papers reporting original and unpublished research that combines cognitive modeling and computational linguistics. Accepted papers are expected to be presented at the workshop and will be published in the workshop proceedings. They should emphasize obtained results rather than intended work, and should indicate clearly the state of completion of the reported results. A paper accepted for presentation at the workshop must not be presented or have been presented at any other meeting with publicly available proceedings. If essentially identical papers are submitted to other conferences or workshops as well, this fact must be indicated at submission time. No submission should be longer than necessary, up to a maximum 8 pages plus two additional pages containing references.

To facilitate double-blind reviewing, submitted manuscripts should not include any identifying information about the authors.

Submissions must be formatted using NAACL 2012 style files available at


Contributions should be submitted in PDF via the submission site:


The submission deadline is 11:59PM Eastern Time on March 20, 2012.
Best Student Paper

The best paper whose first author is a student will receive the Best Student Paper award.  

All accepted CMCL papers will be published in the workshop proceedings as is customary at ACL conferences. 

Important Dates

Submission deadline: 20 March 2012
Notification of acceptance: 17 April 2012
Camera-ready versions due: 30 April 2012
Workshop: 7 June 2012
Workshop Chairs

Roger Levy,  Department of Linguistics,  University of California at San Diego
David Reitter,  Department of Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University
Program Committee

Matthew Crocker	Saarbrücken University
Robert Daland	UC Los Angeles
Vera Demberg	Saarbrücken University
Amit Dubey 	University of Edinburgh
Michael C. Frank	Stanford University
Ted Gibson	MIT
Guodong Zhou	Soochow University
John T. Hale	Cornell University
Keith Hall	Google
Jeffrey Heinz	University of Delaware
T. Florian Jaeger	University of Rochester
Gaja Jarosz	Yale University
Frank Keller	University of Edinburgh
Richard L. Lewis	University of Michigan
Brian Edmond Murphy	University of Trento
Ulrike Pado	VICO Research & Consulting
Sebastian Padó	University of Heidelberg
Amy Perfors	Adelaide University
Brian Roark	Oregon Health & Science University
William Schuler	The Ohio State University
Mark Steedman	University of Edinburgh
Patrick Sturt	University of Edinburgh
Shravan Vasishth	University of Potsdam
Nathaniel Smith	UC San Diego
Lisa Pearl	UC Irvine
Noah Goodman	Stanford University
Klinton Bicknell	UC San Diego
Brian Dillon	University of Massachussetts
Naomi Feldman	University of Maryland

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list