[Elsnet-list] BCS/BCS-IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award - Call for Nominations--

Ayse Goker ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk
Fri Dec 23 15:16:49 CET 2011

-------- Call for Nominations ---------------

BCS / BCS IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award
An Award to Commemorate Karen Spärck Jones

The British Computer Society Information Retrieval Specialist Group (BCS IRSG)
in conjunction with the BCS has created an award to commemorate the
achievements of Karen Spärck Jones.

Karen was a Professor Emeritus of Computers and Information at the University of
Cambridge and one of the most remarkable women in computer science. Her
contributions to the fields of Information Retrieval (IR) and Natural Language
Processing (NLP), especially with regard to experimentation, have been
outstanding and highly influential. Karen’s achievements resulted in her
receiving a number of prestigious accolades such as the BCS Lovelace medal, for
her advancement in Information Systems, and the ACM Salton Award for her
significant, sustained and continuing contributions to research in information

In order to honour Karen’s achievements, the BCS/BCS-IRSG has established an
annual award to encourage and promote talented researchers who have endeavoured
to advance our understanding of Information Retrieval and Natural Language
Processing with significant experimental contributions.

To celebrate the commemorative event, the recipient of the award will be invited
to present a keynote lecture at the BCS-IRSG’s annual conference – the European
Conference in Information Retrieval (ECIR). This forum provides an excellent
venue to present and announce the award as the conference attracts many new and
younger researchers.

The recipient will also be presented with a prize consisting of a certificate, a
trophy and a cash prize of £1000 plus expenses to travel to ECIR.

BCS/BCS-IRSG Karen Spärck Jones Award:

Eligibility: Open to all IR/NLP researchers, who have no more than 10 years’
post doctoral or equivalent experience.

Criteria: To have endeavoured to advance our understanding of IR and/or NLP
through experimentation.

Nominations: The following should be provided:
- name of nominee, position, affiliation, years since completing PhD;
- name of person proposing the nominee, position, and affiliation;
- a short case for the award (composed of a short description of why the
individual should receive the award);
- a short description of what contributions the individual has made;
- a list of the individual’s top five publications reflecting the relevant
contributions, and role within these;
Please note that the nomination text should not exceed 2500 words.

- Additionally, two supporting letters (i.e. reference letters) from people who
would like to encourage/support the nomination must be provided, along with
their contact details. **Please note that the person preparing the nomination
case should submit these letters along with the nomination in this year’s
process. ***

Nominations should be emailed to the contact below, and seek confirmation of
receipt. It is advisable that you notify us as soon as possible of an intention
to nominate an individual as this will help with planning. It is possible for
individuals to nominate themselves, though this is less encouraged – as in the
least, this will mean there is one less person supporting the nomination case.

Award Panel: The Panel Chair, appointed by the BCS IRSG Committee, will invite
panel members from amongst representatives of the BCS main council, the
BCS-IRSG Committee, sponsoring organisation(s), as well as at least two experts
appointed by the BCS-IRSG committee and the Awards Coordinator of the BCS-IRSG.

Prize: The recipient of the award will receive a certificate, a trophy, a cash
prize of £1000 plus expenses to travel to ECIR to present the keynote lecture.

Presentation: The recipient of the award is expected to give a keynote lecture
at ECIR when he/she will also be presented with their trophy, and cash prize.

Timeline  (for the 2011 Award to be presented in 2012):
    20    April, 2011 -    Call for nominations.
    20    January, 2012 -    Deadline for nominations.
    31    January, 2012 -    Notification of the prize winner.
    1-5    April, 2012-    Winner presents keynote at ECIR.

Sponsors: Currently, the award is being sponsored by the BCS IRSG and Microsoft
Research Cambridge.

Contact: Ayse Göker, ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk

Dr. Ayse Goker
Centre for Interactive Systems Research
Department of Information Science
School of Informatics
City University
Northampton Square
London EC1V OHB
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0) 207040 8389
Email:ayse.goker.1 at soi.city.ac.uk

This message was sent using IMP, the Internet Messaging Program.

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list