[Elsnet-list] CFP: Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics CMCL 2012

David Reitter reitter at cmu.edu
Mon Feb 6 19:42:30 CET 2012

Cognitive Modeling and Computational Linguistics (CMCL-2012)

A workshop to be held June 7, 2012
at the North American Association for Computational Linguistics meeting (NAACL-HLT) 
in Montreal, Quebec



Workshop Description

This workshop provides a venue for work in computational
psycholinguistics. ACL Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Martin Kay
described this topic as "build[ing] models of language that reflect in
some interesting way on the ways in which people use language." The
2012 workshop follows in the tradition of several previous meetings:

	•  the computational psycholinguistics meeting at CogSci in Berkeley in 1997
	•  the Incremental Parsing workshop at ACL 2004
	•  the first two CMCL workshops at ACL 2010 and ACL 2011

in inviting contributions that apply methods from computational
linguistics to problems in the cognitive modeling of any and all
natural language abilities.

Scope and Topics

The workshop invites a broad spectrum of work in the cognitive science
of language, at all levels of analysis from sounds to
discourse. Topics include, but are not limited to

	• incremental parsers for diverse grammar formalisms
	• derivations of comprehension difficulty predictions, or
          predictions regarding generalization in language learning
	• stochastic models of factors encouraging one production or
          interpretation over its competitors
	• models of semantic interpretation, including psychologically
          realistic notions of word meaning, phrase meaning, and
	• models and empirical analysis of the relationship between
          mechanistic psycholinguistic principles and pragmatic or
          semantic adaptation, usually in dialogue
	• models of human language acquisition
	• models of linguistic information propagation and language
          evolution in communication networks


This call solicits full papers reporting original and unpublished
research that combines cognitive modeling and computational
linguistics. Accepted papers are expected to be presented at the
workshop and will be published in the workshop proceedings. They
should emphasize obtained results rather than intended work, and
should indicate clearly the state of completion of the reported
results. A paper accepted for presentation at the workshop must not be
presented or have been presented at any other meeting with publicly
available proceedings. If essentially identical papers are submitted
to other conferences or workshops as well, this fact must be indicated
at submission time. No submission should be longer than necessary, up
to a maximum 8 pages plus two additional pages containing references.

To facilitate double-blind reviewing, submitted manuscripts should not
include any identifying information about the authors.

Submissions must be formatted using NAACL 2012 style files available at


Contributions should be submitted in PDF via the submission site:


The submission deadline is 11:59PM Eastern Time on March 20, 2012.

Best Student Paper

The best paper whose first author is a student will receive the Best Student Paper award.  


All accepted CMCL papers will be published in the workshop proceedings
as is customary at ACL conferences.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: 20 March 2012
Notification of acceptance: 17 April 2012
Camera-ready versions due: 30 April 2012
Workshop: 7 June 2012
Workshop Chairs

Roger Levy,  Department of Linguistics,  University of California at San Diego
David Reitter,  Department of Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University

Program Committee

Matthew Crocker  (Saarbrücken University)
Robert Daland  (UC Los Angeles)
Vera Demberg  (Saarbrücken University)
Amit Dubey   (University of Edinburgh)
Michael C. Frank  (Stanford University)
Ted Gibson  (MIT)
Guodong Zhou  (Soochow University)
John T. Hale  (Cornell University)
Keith Hall  (Google)
Jeffrey Heinz  (University of Delaware)
T. Florian Jaeger  (University of Rochester)
Gaja Jarosz  (Yale University)
Frank Keller  (University of Edinburgh)
Richard L. Lewis  (University of Michigan)
Brian Edmond Murphy  (University of Trento)
Ulrike Pado  (VICO Research & Consulting)
Sebastian Padó  (University of Heidelberg)
Amy Perfors  (Adelaide University)
Brian Roark  (Oregon Health & Science University)
William Schuler  (The Ohio State University)
Mark Steedman  (University of Edinburgh)
Patrick Sturt  (University of Edinburgh)
Shravan Vasishth  (University of Potsdam)
Nathaniel Smith  (UC San Diego)
Lisa Pearl  (UC Irvine)
Noah Goodman  (Stanford University)
Klinton Bicknell  (UC San Diego)
Brian Dillon  (University of Massachussetts)
Naomi Feldman  (University of Maryland)

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list