[Elsnet-list] Journal of Language Modelling

Adam Przepiorkowski adamp at ipipan.waw.pl
Mon Sep 3 00:15:55 CEST 2012

It is our pleasure to announce a new open-access electronic
periodical: the Journal of Language Modelling (JLM). The journal is
free for authors and readers alike.  All articles will be published
under a Creative Commons licence.

JLM is a peer-reviewed journal which aims to bridge the gap between
theoretical, formal and computational linguistics. Although a typical
article will present linguistic generalisations – either their
application in natural language processing or their discovery in
language corpora – acceptable topics range from linguistic analyses
sufficiently precise to be readily implemented to mathematical models
of aspects of language, and further to computational systems making
non-trivial use of linguistic insights.

We understand the discipline of language modelling very broadly. It
includes, naturally, statistical language modelling, as construed in
speech recognition or statistical machine translation, but it also
covers formal linguistic descriptions of phonological, morphological,
syntactic, semantic and pragmatic language phenomena; corpus
linguistics as a tool for modelling language; and so on.

Papers are reviewed within less than three months of their receipt,
and they appear on-line as soon as they have been accepted. There are
no delays typical of traditional paper journals. Accepted articles are
then collected in half-yearly issues and yearly volumes, with
continuous page numbering, and are made available as hard copies via
print on demand, at a nominal fee. On the other hand, Journal of
Language Modelling has a fully traditional view of quality: all papers
are carefully refereed by at least three reviewers, including at least
one member of the Editorial Board, and they are only accepted if they
adhere to the highest scientific, typographic and stylistic standards.

Articles can be submitted at:


The current composition of JLM's Editorial Board is as follows:

• Steven Abney, University of Michigan, USA
• Ash Asudeh, Carleton University, CANADA; University of Oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
• Chris Biemann, Technische Universität Darmstadt, GERMANY
• Igor Boguslavsky, Technical University of Madrid, SPAIN; Institute for Information Transmission Problems, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, RUSSIA
• António Branco, University of Lisbon, PORTUGAL
• David Chiang, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA
• Greville Corbett, University of Surrey, UNITED KINGDOM
• Dan Cristea, University of Iași, ROMANIA
• Jan Daciuk, Gdańsk University of Technology, POLAND
• Mary Dalrymple, University of Oxford, UNITED KINGDOM
• Darja Fišer, University of Ljubljana, SLOVENIA
• Anette Frank, Universität Heidelberg, GERMANY
• Claire Gardent, CNRS/LORIA, Nancy, FRANCE
• Jonathan Ginzburg, Université Paris-Diderot, FRANCE
• Stefan Th. Gries, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
• Heiki-Jaan Kaalep, University of Tartu, ESTONIA
• Laura Kallmeyer, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, GERMANY
• Jong-Bok Kim, Kyung Hee University, Seoul, KOREA
• Kimmo Koskenniemi, University of Helsinki, FINLAND
• Jonas Kuhn, Universität Stuttgart, GERMANY
• Alessandro Lenci, University of Pisa, ITALY
• Ján Mačutek, Comenius University in Bratislava, SLOVAKIA
• Igor Mel’čuk, University of Montreal, CANADA
• Glyn Morrill, Technical University of Catalonia, Barcelona, SPAIN
• Reinhard Muskens, Tilburg University, NETHERLANDS
• Mark-Jan Nederhof, University of St Andrews, UNITED KINGDOM
• Petya Osenova, Sofia University, BULGARIA
• David Pesetsky, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
• Maciej Piasecki, Wrocław University of Technology, POLAND
• Christopher Potts, Stanford University, USA
• Louisa Sadler, University of Essex, UNITED KINGDOM
• Ivan A. Sag, Stanford University, USA
• Agata Savary, Université François Rabelais Tours, FRANCE
• Sabine Schulte im Walde, Universität Stuttgart, GERMANY
• Stuart M. Shieber, Harvard University, USA
• Mark Steedman, University of Edinburgh, UNITED KINGDOM
• Stan Szpakowicz, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Ottawa, CANADA; Institute of Computer Science, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, POLAND
• Shravan Vasishth, Universität Potsdam, GERMANY
• Zygmunt Vetulani, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, POLAND
• Aline Villavicencio, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, BRAZIL
• Veronika Vincze, University of Szeged, HUNGARY
• Yorick Wilks, Florida Institute of Human and Machine Cognition, USA
• Shuly Wintner, University of Haifa, ISRAEL
• Zdeněk Žabokrtský, Charles University in Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC

More information can be found at http://jlm.ipipan.waw.pl/

We look forward to receiving your submissions.

JLM Editors

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list