[Elsnet-list] CFP: NAACL-HLT 2015 Student Research Workshop (SRW)

Saif Mohammad uvgotsaif at gmail.com
Mon Dec 8 03:38:18 CET 2014

NAACL-HLT 2015 Student Research Workshop (SRW)
Call for Papers

Workshop website: https://sites.google.com/site/naaclsrw2015/home/

The SRW workshop will be held in conjunction with NAACL HLT 2015 in Denver,

General Invitation for Submission

The Student Research Workshop provides a venue for student researchers to
present their work in computational linguistics and natural language
processing. Students receive feedback from the general conference audience
as well as from mentors specifically assigned according to the topic of
their work.

We invite papers in three different categories:
1. Thesis Proposals. This category is appropriate for advanced students who
have decided on a thesis topic and wish to get feedback on their proposal
and broader ideas for their continuing work.
2. Research Papers. Papers in this category can describe completed work, or
work in progress with preliminary results. For these papers, the first
author must be a current graduate student.
3. Special undergraduate track. In order to encourage undergraduate
research, we are offering a special track for research papers where the
first author is an undergraduate student.
Topics of interest for the SRW are the same as NAACL main conference.

Benefits of participation
* All accepted papers will be presented in the main conference poster
session giving students an opportunity to interact with and present their
work to a large and diverse audience, including top researchers in the
* All accepted papers (thesis, research, undergraduate) will be published
in the NAACL 2015 SRW Proceedings.
* Each participant is also assigned a mentor – an experienced researcher –
who can provide valuable advice.
* Additional feedback is being planned for thesis proposals, as well as
oral presentations.

Submission Requirements
All research papers should follow the two-column format of the NAACL HLT
2015 proceedings. All papers will have a maximum limit of 6 pages for
content, with additional pages for references.

Submissions must conform to the specifications of NAACL HLT 2015 call for
papers regarding multiple submissions and preparing papers for the
double-blind review process. Papers which do not conform to these
specifications will be rejected.

Travel Grants
Grants from the NSF and corporate sponsors will be available to offset some
portion of the students' conference registration, travel and accommodation
expenses. Further details will be posted soon.

Important Dates
All deadlines are calculated at 11:59 pm (PST/GMT -8 hours)
* Papers must be submitted by February 25, 2015.
* Acceptance notification deadline: March 20, 2015.
* Camera-ready copy due: March 30, 2015.
* NAACL main conference dates: May 31 – June 5, 2015.

Contact Information
The co-chairs of the workshop can be contacted by email at:
naacl-srw-2015 at googlegroups.com

Student Chairs:

· Shibamouli Lahiri, University of Michigan
· Karen Mazidi, University of North Texas
· Alisa Zhila, Instituto Politécnico Nacional

Faculty Advisors:

· Diana Inkpen, University of Ottawa
· Smaranda Muresan, Columbia University

Program Committee

Amjad Abu-Jbara, Microsoft
Ayan Acharya, UT Austin
Gabor Angeli, Stanford University
Yoav Artzi, University of Washington
Beata Beigman Klebanov, ETS
Chris Biemann, TU Darmstadt
Arianna Bisazza, University of Amsterdam
Yonatan Bisk, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Shu Cai, University of Southern California
Hiram Calvo, Instituto Politécnico Nacional
Asli Celikyilmaz, Microsoft
Monojit Choudhury, Microsoft Research India
Trevor Cohn, University of Melbourne
Hal Daumé III, University of Maryland
Leon Derczynski, University of Sheffield
Kevin Duh, Nara Institute of Science and Technology
Jacob Eisenstein, Georgia Tech
Aciel Eshky, University of Edinburgh
Kilian Evang, University of Groningen
Paul Felt, Brigham Young University
Thomas François, UC Louvain
Annemarie Friedrich, Saarland University
Michael Gamon, Microsoft
Qin Gao, Microsoft
Amit Goyal,  Yahoo Labs
Liane Guillou, University of Edinburgh
Eva Hasler, University of Edinburgh
John Henderson, MITRE Corporation
Derrick Higgins, Civis Analytics
Yuening Hu, Yahoo
Ruihong Huang, Stanford University
Philipp Koehn, University of Edinburgh
Varada Kolhatkar, University of Toronto
Jonathan Kummerfeld, Berkeley
Angeliki Lazaridou, University of Trento
Fei Liu, Carnegie Mellon University
Yang Liu, UT Dallas
Nitin Madnani, ETS
Mitch Marcus, U Penn
Thomas Meyer, Google Zurich
Courtney Napoles, Johns Hopkins University
Martha Palmer, University of Colorado
Ted Pedersen, University of Minnesota Duluth
Christopher Potts, Stanford University
Rashmi Prasad, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
Preethi Raghavan, IBM New Jersey
Owen Rambow, Columbia University
Sravana Reddy, Dartmouth College
Roi Reichart, Technion
Philip Resnik, University of Maryland
Eduardo Rodriguez, Instituto Politécnico Nacional
Kairit Sirts, Tallinn University of Technology
Thamar Solorio, University of Houston
Kapil Thadani, Columbia University
Eva Maria Vecchi, University of Cambridge
Jason Williams, Microsoft
Travis Wolfe, Johns Hopkins University
Xuchen Yao, Johns Hopkins University
Luke Zettlemoyer, University of Washington
Qiuye Zhao, U Penn

Saif Mohammad
Research Officer
Information and Communications Technologies Portfolio
National Research Council Canada
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://list.hum.uu.nl/pipermail/elsnet-list/attachments/20141207/8e6190e4/attachment.html>

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list