[Elsnet-list] Third CfP: EACL 2014 Type Theory and Natural Language Semantics Workshop (TTNLS)

Simon Dobnik simon at dobnik.net
Tue Jan 7 12:47:31 CET 2014


TTNLS: EACL 2014 Type Theory and Natural Language Semantics Workshop

Co-located with EACL 2014, Gothenburg, Sweden

27th of April, 2014


Submission deadline: 23rd January 2014


Type theory has been a central area of research in logic, the semantics
of programming languages, and natural language semantics over the past
fifty years.  Recent developments in type theory have been used to
reconstruct the formal foundations of computational semantics (Ranta
(1994), Fox and Lappin (2005), Ginzburg (2012), Retoré (2012), Cooper
(2012), Cooper et al. (2013)). These theories are generally intensional
and polymorphic in character, and they allow for structured,
fine-grained encoding of information across a diverse set of linguistic

The work in this area has opened up new approaches to modelling the
relations between, inter alia, syntax, semantic interpretation,
dialogue, inference, and cognition, from a largely proof theoretic

The workshop provides a forum for the presentation of leading edge
research in this fast developing sub-field of computational linguistics.
To the best of our knowledge it will be the first major conference on
this topic hosted by the ACL.


We invite papers on topics including, but not limited to, the following:

* sub-typing
* lexical semantics
* record types
* intensionality
* probabilistic type theory
* type theory and the interface among syntax, semantics, phonology
* type theory and functional programming
* type theory, logic, and inference


* Aarne Raanta (Chalmers, Gothenburg)


* Robin Cooper (Gothenburg)
* Simon Dobnik (Gothenburg)
* Shalom Lappin (King's College, London)
* Staffan Larsson (Gothenburg)


* Krasimir Angelov (Chalmers, Gothenburg)
* Patrick Blackburn (Roskilde)
* Stergios Chatzikyriakidis (Royal Holloway, London)
* Steve Clark (Cambridge)
* Philippe de Groote (Inria Nancy - Grand Est)
* Jan van Eijck (Amsterdam)
* Raquel Fernández (Amsterdam)
* Tim Fernando (Trinity College, Dublin)
* Chris Fox (Essex)
* Jonathan Ginzburg (Paris 7)
* Zhaohui Luo (Royal Holloway, London)
* Bruno Mery (LaBRI, Bordeaux)
* Glyn Morrill (Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona)
* Larry Moss (Indiana)
* Reinhard Muskens (Tilburg)
* Bengt Nordström (Chalmers, Gothenburg)
* Valeria de Paiva (Nuance, Sunnyvale California)
* Carl Pollard (Ohio State University)
* Ian Pratt-Hartmann (Manchester)
* Steve Pulman (Oxford)
* Matt Purver (Queen Mary, London)
* Aarne Ranta (Chalmers, Gothenburg)
* Christian Retoré (LaBRI, Bordeaux)
* Scott Martin (Nuance, Sunnyvale California)
* Ray Turner (Essex)


All papers should be submitted in English as PDF documents. Note that
submissions must be anonymous. We welcome full papers of up to 8 pages
and 1 additional page for references formatted in accordance with the
EACL'14 style files (see
http://www.eacl2014.org/files/eacl-2014-styles.zip ).

Submissions can be made via the TTNLS START Conference Management's
system website: https://www.softconf.com/eacl2014/TT/


For any queries please contact us at: ttnls <- at -> dobnik <-.-> net


Submission Deadline: 23 January 2014
Notification: 20 February 2014
Camera Ready Deadline: 3 March 2014
Workshop Day: 27 April 2014

More information about the Elsnet-list mailing list